LURELOVERS™ Australian Fishing Lure Community Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Lure Making > Make your own Fishing Lures > Questions and Tips re carving your own fishing lures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Clearcoat problems

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Unverified New Member
Unverified New Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Didley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Clearcoat problems
    Posted: 13 Apr 2020 at 1:38pm
Hi guys, I'm new to this, I've made two batches of lures and all going well except the clearcoat. I'm using Barnes Clearcoat and get this "pooling" every time, can anyone help.

Many thanks
Fysshe Salmon View Drop Down
LureLovers.com Fanatic
LureLovers.com Fanatic
Fysshe Lures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Fysshe Salmon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2020 at 3:05pm
Good luck with trying to find a cure!! I used Envirotex for years until 10 years ago when it started to react like that. Tried several different brands, different timbers, primers, paints, but still the same. Ended up just using acrylic clear lacquer, not as tough but still looks the part.
Fysshe
Didley View Drop Down
Unverified New Member
Unverified New Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Didley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2020 at 3:16pm
Tried painting it onto a raw timber scrap and it is fine. I'm using create paint air brushed on. It looks great when first painted but like this when dry (12hours or so)
Ducks View Drop Down
LureLovers.com Fanatic
LureLovers.com Fanatic

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Ducks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2020 at 3:49pm
Fish won't mind Dids Thumbs Up
TJC View Drop Down