LURELOVERS™ Australian Fishing Lure Community Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Australian Lures > QLD Lures > C Lures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

My C-Lure collection.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aaron Concord Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: My C-Lure collection.
    Posted: 21 Sep 2015 at 4:42am
G'day,

This is my C-Lure collection, seen in fairly broad strokes.
I initially took these images to show Carl Grist, but he was having issues with receiving them for some unknown reason. I have to re-send them to him. 
I have been buying C-Lures since about 1991, though I assume that all of mine are post-Carl Grist models.
Most are by Dom Fry, with whom I struck up a friendship through Damon Olsen in 2000.
Dom was kind enough to do a lot of custom colours for myself and a very,very,very small group of friends, which from memory, was only 5 of us in total. 
Astute collectors may notice that some of the colours are in fact old Nils Master schemes that were no longer imported into Australia, AFTER they had been found to be exceptional at taking the local mangrove jacks. 
Nils Master colour schemes have washed through many Australian cottage industry colour charts, but in particular, the chromed version of the Nilsy Pink #70 and the burnt orange #86 being front runners for the local red devils. 
Dom's large range of funky colours that he already had, which were all part of the evolution of C-Lures, meant that there was plenty of great stuff to plonk in the tackle box as it is, though I loved the fact that he never balked at any of my suggestions when I was trying to think up something different. 
I must add, I invested in a lot of Dom's lures before Damon Olsen and I took off to do our first fishing movie together, titled Fishing Wild in Weipa.