Forum Home Forum Home > Australian Lures > NSW Lures > John Bennett
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Small Bennett

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Stall Holder
Stall Holder

Tonk Lures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Lure-Nut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Small Bennett
    Posted: 06 Apr 2012 at 4:16pm
Pulled this out of a mate's tackle box and would like a bit more info as I'm not a Bennett expert by any means. Over the years I've had plenty of these with the metal bib and presumably timber but this one looks like it's moulded with a plastic bib - now I know it's genuine cause I was there when it was bought in the '90's but where does it fit into the whole Bennett history ???

My gut feel is that it's a transition lure and probably of a limited run but I'm happy to hear from the experts before I pass it on, to I'm presuming, a Bennett Collector LOL

Aussbasstony View Drop Down
LureLovers.com Fanatic
LureLovers.com Fanatic

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aussbasstony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:35pm
Any of the Bennett experts out there shed some info on these model lures ?

Cheers
Oldman View Drop Down
LureLovers.com Guide
LureLovers.com Guide

Beta Tester

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oldman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 6:57pm
Brett will be able to do a better job than me on this, but I believe it  to be johns first non timber lure.
the poly bib was cut with the same tool that he cut the metal bibs with (original timber lure).
Not many around (I believe them to be rarer than the earlier timber ones)
For what ever reason, John went to the round bib and stuck with it till he sold to Dan Mcgrath.
The "round" bibs were machine cut for a while, then moulded  till Dan took over.